$75.00 Cash or Check, PLUS
ANY OTHER FEES*
COST: $20.00 LEOSA Qualification
This course is mandated by
the Commonwealth of Kentucky for applicants pursuing the Kentucky CCDW
Course Training Schedule:
8:00 - Orientation:
Paperwork & Class Schedule
9:00 - Ky Statutes on
Firearms & CCDW (Weapon inspection will begin at this time)
10:00 - Use & Misuse of
Force, Legal Liability
11:00 - Safety: In the
Classroom, At Home, On the Range
12:00 - LUNCH
1:00 - Principles of
2:30 - Pistol and Revolver
Nomenclature & Function
3:30 - Live Fire Exercises
and Cleaning Your Weapon
4:30 - 5:00 - Written Test
for a CCDW License
The applicant for a
carry concealed deadly weapon (CCDW) license must:
• Be a citizen of the
United States; and
• Be a resident of Kentucky for at least six months prior to filing the
application or a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is on
active duty, who is at the time of application assigned to a military
posting in Kentucky, and who has been assigned to a posting in Kentucky for
six months or longer immediately preceding the filing of the application;
• Be twenty-one (21) years of age or older; and
• Not be under indictment for, or have been convicted of, a crime punishable
by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year; and
• Not be a fugitive from justice; and
• Not be an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance; and
• Not have been adjudicated as a mental defective or have committed to a
mental institution; and
• Not have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable
• Not be subject to a domestic violence order or emergency protective order;
• Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence (see
section below for discussion of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence);
• Not be prohibited from the purchase, receipt or possession of firearms,
ammunition or both pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 922(g), 18 U.S.C. 922(n), or
applicable state law; and
• Not have been committed to a state or federal facility for abuse of a
controlled substance or convicted of a misdemeanor relating to a controlled
substance within the three-year period immediately preceding the date the
application was submitted; and
• Not have two or more convictions for violating KRS 189A.010 (Operating
motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or other substance which
impairs driving ability) within the three (3) years immediately preceding
the date on which the application is submitted; and
• Not have been committed as an alcoholic pursuant to KRS Chapter 222 or
similar laws of another state within the three (3) year period immediately
preceding the date on which the application is submitted; and
• Not owe a child support arrearage which equals or exceeds the cumulative
amount which would be owed after one (1) year of nonpayment; and
• Have complied with any subpoena or warrant relating to child support or
paternity proceedings; and
• Have not been convicted of a violation of KRS 508.030 (Assault in the
fourth degree) or 508.080 (Terroristic Threatening in the third degree)
within the three years immediately preceding the date on which the
application is submitted; and
• Demonstrate competence with a firearm by successful completion of a
firearms safety or training course offered or approved by the Department of
Criminal Justice Training.
NOTE - ONLY SOME OF THE
OFFENSES LISTED ABOVE HAVE A THREE-YEAR LIMITATION. OTHER OFFENSES, SUCH AS
FELONIES AND MISDEMEANOR CRIMES OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, DO NOT HAVE A TIME
LIMIT. IN OTHER WORDS, IF YOU HAVE BEEN CONVICTED OF A FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR
CRIME OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, YOU ARE INELIGIBLE FOR A CCDW LICENSE AND ARE
PROHIBITED FROM POSSESSING A FIREARM UNDER FEDERAL LAW, NO MATTER HOW LONG
AGO YOU WERE CONVICTED.
If you have been
convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one
year, i.e., a felony, you are not only ineligible to possess a CCDW license;
federal law prohibits you from possessing a firearm. Individuals subject to
this disability should immediately lawfully dispose of their firearms and
ammunition. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
recommends that individuals who have been convicted of a felony surrender
their firearms and ammunition to a third party, such as their attorney,
local police agency, or a federal firearms dealer. The continued possession
of firearms or ammunition by persons under this disability is a violation of
federal law and may subject the possessor to criminal penalties as well as
seizure and forfeiture of the firearms and ammunition.
Those on pretrial
diversion for disqualifying offenses are not eligible for a CCDW license.
Misdemeanor Crimes of
Domestic Violence (MCDV)
It is illegal under
federal law for any person convicted of a "misdemeanor crime of domestic
violence" to ship, transport, possess, or receive firearms or ammunition (18
U.S.C. 922). A "misdemeanor crime of domestic violence" is defined in 18
U.S.C. 921(33) as an offense that:
1. Is a misdemeanor under
federal or state law; and
2. Has, as an element, the
use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly
weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the
victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a
person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse,
parent, or guardian, or by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent,
or guardian of the victim.
The following misdemeanors
under Kentucky law are deemed to be possible misdemeanor crimes of domestic
violence. If you have been convicted of any of the following offenses, your
application must be reviewed to determine whether your offense involved
• KRS 508.030 Assault in
the fourth degree (note that this is a three year state disqualifier even if
domestic violence was not involved).
• KRS 508.040 Assault under Extreme Emotional Disturbance
• KRS 508.120 Criminal Abuse in the third degree
• KRS 509.030 Unlawful Imprisonment in the second degree
• KRS 510.120 Sexual Abuse in second degree
• KRS 510.130 Sexual Abuse in third degree
• KRS 510.140 Sexual Misconduct
• KRS 525.060 Disorderly Conduct
• KRS 525.070 Harassment
Note that there is no
three-year limitation as with state disqualifiers. If you have been
convicted of any of the above offenses, a domestic violence determination
must be made regardless of how long ago you were convicted. A domestic
violence determination must also be made if you were convicted of similar
misdemeanors in federal court or another state or territory. You are not
disqualified, even if domestic violence was involved, if your conviction was
expunged, set aside or pardoned. If your conviction is determined to be a
misdemeanor crime of domestic violence, you are not only ineligible to
possess a CCDW license; federal law prohibits you from possessing a firearm.
Individuals subject to this disability should immediately lawfully dispose
of their firearms and ammunition. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms
and Explosives (ATF) recommends that individuals who have been convicted of
a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence surrender their firearms and
ammunition to a third party, such as their attorney, local police agency, or
a federal firearms dealer. The continued possession of firearms or
ammunition by persons under this disability is a violation of federal law
and may subject the possessor to criminal penalties as well as seizure and
forfeiture of the firearms and ammunition.
What weapons are covered
under the CCDW license?
Any weapon from which a
shot, readily capable of producing death or serious physical injury, may
Any knife other than an
ordinary pocket knife or hunting knife.
Billy, nightstick, or
Blackjack or slapjack.
Nunchaku karate sticks.
Shiriken or death star.
made from plastic, or other similar hard material.
items you need to bring to a CCDW class are as follows:
Your Handgun (Handgun
ONLY – No Shotguns)
A Box of Ammo
(20 Rounds or more)
A Cleaning kit
Eye Protection and
For The License Applicant Course are as Follows:
student will be able to explain the requirements for obtaining a
concealed deadly weapon license in Kentucky.
Student will be able to explain the laws relating to firearms included
in KRS chapters 237 and 527.
student will be able to explain when the use of force is justifiable
under KRS Chapter 503.
student will be able to explain possible legal liability for the misuse
student will identify the basics principles of marksmanship.
student will identify the concepts essential to the safe use of
student will identify the basic nomenclature of a pistol and revolver.
student will DEMONSTRATE THE ABILITY TO FIRE HIS OR HER HANDGUN
ACCURATELY, ON A PRESCRIBED COURSE OF FIRE, USING SAFE WEAPON HANDLING
student will demonstrate the ability to clean and inspect their handgun.
student will achieve a MINIMUM score of 70% in order to pass the written
instructor may conduct as many practice rounds as necessary, until he or she
feels comfortable with the student's skill level and ability to pass.
One retest is permitted.
July 15, 1998, Kentucky recognizes valid carry concealed deadly weapons
licenses issued by other states and, subject to the provisions of
Kentucky law, a person holding a valid license from another state may
carry a concealed deadly weapon in Kentucky.
inquiries regarding recognition of Kentucky carry concealed licenses
have been made to all states and U.S. territories. The
chart below detail those responses.
State Responses on Reciprocity
Updated January 2012
other jurisdictions that recognize Kentucky carry concealed permits may
limit the right to carry concealed to handguns only and not allow for
the carrying concealed of other types of weapons. Also, the laws of
other jurisdictions may differ from the laws of Kentucky regarding the
circumstances under which you may legally carry a concealed weapon. You
are advised to contact all other jurisdictions in which you intend to
carry concealed weapons with questions regarding these issues.
More Information visit the Kentucky State Police Website
Col. Jason Rector